Two Of A Kind (Recipes!)

It’s Ramadan. And though it is a month of fasting and abstaining from feasting, I always find myself scrambling for recipes to make at Iftar (time when we break our fast). While I usually fix meals with less oil and more veggies and chicken for myself, I prepare fried food, desserts and gravies with rotis for hubster, mum-in-law and kids.

Not long ago, I’d cooked chicken and veggies using honey and mustard sauce (purely an inspiration that arose from the need of eating healthy). Also sometime later, when I was in Mumbai with my parents, I’d baked a choco-chip cake in honour of my brother-in-law who’d come home for the first time after my sister and he got wedlocked. Since I’d posted about both the delicacies on my Instagram page, I was requested to also write the recipes. I’d promised a blogpost and here goes the modus operandi of what I’d cooked up. ☺


Chocolate-chips Cake

Ingredients:

▶2/3 cup butter or pure ghee

▶ 1.5 cup sugar

▶ 3 eggs

▶ 1 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

▶ 3/4 cup whole wheat flour

▶ 2 and a 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

▶ 1 cup milk

▶ 1 and a 1/2 tsps vanilla essence

▶ 1 cup chocolate chips

Method:

🔘 Preheat the oven to 180°C.

🔘 Grease the cake pan.

🔘 In a large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar.

🔘 Beat in the eggs.

🔘 In another bowl, sift together the flours and baking powder. Add this alternately with the milk to the creamed mixture.

🔘 Stir in the vanilla essence.

🔘 Chop the chocolate-chips coarsely, and add to the batter.

🔘 Pour the batter into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes or until knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

🔘 I served the cake with butterscotch icecream (store bought). It took the deliciousness to another level ☺

Chicken in Honey and Mustard Sauce

Ingredients:

▶One breast piece of chicken, chopped into cubes

▶ Veggies, diced (I used capsicum, tomatoes, onions and mushrooms)

▶ Salt 1/2 tsp

▶ Pepper 1/4 tsp

▶ Mustard Sauce – 1 tblspn

▶ Honey – 1 tblspn

▶ Garlic Paste – 2 tsp

▶ Dry Basil – 1 tsp

▶ Coconut Oil – 1 tblspn

Method:

🔘 Marinate chicken in salt, pepper, mustard sauce, dry basil, honey and garlic paste.

🔘 In a pan, heat coconut oil.

🔘 Stir fry the veggies, adding a pinch each of salt & pepper.

🔘 Add the chicken pieces. Mix everything well and cook till done.

🔘 Sprinkle chopped spring onion leaves or coriander before serving.

🔘 Serve with rotis or brown bread.


Happy baking and cooking. Remember me and my family in your exclusive prayers.

Prends soin ⚘


One thought on “Two Of A Kind (Recipes!)

Leave a Reply

