Regaling With Recipe Today 

These days Little Man has been doing really well with his lessons, by Allah’s grace. At first, as a new mum, I worried excessively because he was distracted easily and I showed very less patience with him. Gradually though, I have made myself learn the gentle approach of teaching. I dont get exasperated when they take a break from doing homework without asking me, instead I promise them small treats if they finished their studies on time or did well in their class tests. So, when Little Man scored full marks in his dictation test, it called for our favourite cake baking session and we thoroughly enjoyed it last evening.

I’m sharing the recipe of a scrumptious Date and Walnut Cake that Little Man helped me prepare (he diligently cracked all walnuts and even broke them to pieces for me)

I wanted an eggless recipe. I had one saved from a long time ago and hadn’t given it a try until now. Also, there were dates in the refrigerator that looked over-ripe to me (I’m not sure if that happens). It was perfect to bake a cake, using dates. I’m generally fond of fruit cakes and thought children would feel so too and they did ☺

Ingredients

2 cups chopped dates

2  teaspoons baking soda

2  cups of hot water

1/2 cup butter (I used pure ghee)

1 and 1/2 cups sugar

1  teaspoon vanilla essence

2  cups flour

1 cup chopped walnuts

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180°c. Prepare the cake pan by greasing it.

2. Mix chopped dates, soda and boiling water and let this stand.

3. Mix butter/ghee, sugar and vanilla essence. Then add the date mixture.

4. Add flour and chopped walnuts and give it a good mix.

5. Pour into prepared cake pan and bake for 40 minutes.

6. Test cake with toothpick to see if done.

7. Serve and cut after it is cooled.

 
The recipe is simple and pleasing to prepare. I used the leftover cake to make sundaes the next day which got gobbled up quickly. Even hubster, who doesn’t share a sweet tooth unlike kids and me, finished his bowl of sundae ☺
Let me know if you try this one. Happy Baking 😘

18 thoughts on “Regaling With Recipe Today 

  1. Wow this looks yum… i love both dates n walnuts.. wl surely give this one a try.. as for ir writing it wud b an understatement to call it interesting 😘

Leave a Reply

